The Latest in Chasity Belts/Anti-Rape Wear: Cut-Resistance Fabrics In the Panties Area.

Really. Someone’s seriously trying to get fundraising to make what are essentially chastity belts, complete with locks on the bands, cut resistant fabric, and some reinforcement around the vaginal area.

This is, honestly, probably even scarier than Sexy MRA.

I have some complaints about that.

  1. Because obviously rapists won’t rape you if they can’t pull your panties off.
  2. Because rape is just vaginal or anal penetration.
  3. Because no woman has ever gotten sudden diarrhea.
  4. Because no (cis*)woman has ever gotten her period without warning.
  5. In a bedroom somewhere: “Honey, sorry, I need to unlock my underwear before you can fuck me. I’m sorry, it’s meant to prevent rape! It’ll be off soon, hold on, I need to get the locks off my thighs… what was the combination number again?”
  6. Because rapists gonna rape! Even though we’re working on educating people on what consent means and what rape is, it’s not gonna be enough, so prepare for the inevitable, or else!
  7. Related to the previous point, if you don’t wear AR Wear undies, it’s your fault if you get raped. So thanks for giving assholes another piece of ammunition to blame rape victims, I guess?
  8. Because this is totally going to be comfortable and not chafe my skin. I mean, they say that they’re trying to make it comfortable, but honestly, the idea of locks constantly pressing against my skin all day long sounds uncomfortable.

Etc.

I understand that the people who came up with this idea probably had the best of intentions, but really. Besides the fact that it seems really impractical in theory (and probably in reality too) (see points 3-5), the message it’s sending isn’t very nice.

To clarify: it’s okay that people want to take the precautions they can to feel safer. I do this too (walking down the street at night with keys in the fist anyone?). But in the end, rape is the fault of the rapist, and not the victim. So while this is meant to tackle the fear of being raped, and is meant to make women feel better, the implications of this product aren’t… great, to say the least.

I’m sorry for the fact that the threat of rape is so great that some women feel the need to have chastity belts just to feel safe walking down the street at night.

4 thoughts on “The Latest in Chasity Belts/Anti-Rape Wear: Cut-Resistance Fabrics In the Panties Area.

  1. sparky

    When I saw this, my thought was: S–t, we’re back to chastity belts? Really? What’s next, sending unmarried daughters into convents?

    And #3 caused me to spray wine all over my phone 🙂

  2. pillowinhell

    Given the preponderance of abstinence only sex ed and purity oaths/rings, I think the chastity belt is going to be used as it’s always been used : means of controlling a daughters or wife’s sexuality.

  3. Alice Sanguinaria Post author

    I wouldn’t be surprised if fundies and what not started using it like that either.

    Of course, it’s much easier to put the onus on victims than it it to put it on rapists if a person’s mindset is that it’s gonna happen sooner or later and that prevention is impossible ’cause reasons.

  4. Pingback: Tacky Tuesday: Honey, Unlock Your Drawers. I’ll Be Home Soon! | funnysideupandscrambled

Leave a Reply

